For many Americans Memorial Day means the beginning of summer, barbecues with friends and family, and often a few cold beers to celebrate. But be careful around these times of year, while driving home as Memorial Weekend is also known for an increase in both drunk driving related accidents and DWI (driving while intoxicated) arrests.
The Memorial Weekend Crackdown On Drunk Driving
This year, police across New York are cracking down on substance-impaired driving over the holiday weekend in an effort to help deter injuries and deaths caused by impaired driving. This means that there will be an increased number of police officers patrolling the streets this season as well as manning DWI checkpoints.
The Memorial Weekend crackdown on drunk driving is being funded by the New York State STOP-DWI Foundation. This program’s mission is to reduce the number of alcohol and drug related traffic crashes, to promote DWI prevention, and to coordinate local law enforcement’s efforts with education and prosecution. The foundation’s message to all drivers over the holiday weekend is do not drink or drug and drive, and always have a plan to get home safely. The organization stresses that the personal and financial costs of not doing so are simply too great.
The STOP-DWI Foundation is getting the word out that there will be an increase in DWI checkpoints during Memorial Weekend. However, they have chosen not to disclose where the checkpoints will be located. A spokeswoman for the organization stressed that there will be no warning. This crackdown will hopefully lead to fewer drunk driving accidents over the long weekend, and will likely result in an increase in DWI arrests. Some counties, such as St. Lawrence, have agreed that all drunk driving funds collected during the Memorial Weekend crackdown will help find their local STOP-DWI programs.
What Constitutes A DWI In New York?
In New York, a driver can be charged with a DWI if their BAC (blood alcohol concentration) exceeds the legal limit. However, the legal limit differs based on the driver’s age and whether or not they are operating a commercial vehicle. You are over the legal limit and eligible for a DWI if:
- You are 21 years old or older and have a BAC of 0.08% or higher,
- You are driving a commercial motor vehicle and have a BAC of 0.04% or higher, or
- You are less than 21 years old and have a BAC of 0.02% or higher.
Additionally, it is important to note that drivers who are impaired by either alcohol or drugs can be charged with a DWAI (driving while ability impaired) even if their BAC doesn’t reach the limits listed above. A DWAI can be charged based upon the driver’s BAC along with other factors.
How Can We Help?
Charged with a DWI in New York? Contact our team today to learn your options. We’re available 24/7; (877) 435-7394.
DISCLAIMER: The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem.