Surviving a Syracuse DWI Arrest
Should I take a Plea Bargain?
If you are arrested in New York on a first-time DWI charge, you should know that you face the possibility of being convicted of a misdemeanor and you could face fines of up to $1000 and might also have your driver’s license suspended for a maximum of 6 months. It is important for first-time DWI defendants to understand that a conviction for DWI in New York may carry the sentence of a maximum of 1 year in jail. However, most first-time DWI offenders are not sentenced to jail time.
Faced with these harsh DWI penalties, you might be wondering if you should agree to a plea bargain in your case. Most convictions in misdemeanor cases are the result of guilty pleas rather than verdicts following a trial. A plea bargain is an agreement with the prosecution where you agree to plead guilty to a lesser charge and the prosecutor agrees to guarantee you get a lighter sentence. In making the decision to agree to a plea bargain, you should consult your DWI defense attorney about the likelihood of an acquittal and the strength of the prosecution’s case against you. For example, if it is your first-time being charged with DWI, the prosecutor may offer you an opportunity to plead guilty to the charge of DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired). This would lessen the charge from the criminal offense of DWI to that of a traffic violation, since DWAI is considered a traffic infraction and not a criminal offense in New York.
Our are experienced in handling DWI cases. If you need a lawyer who can help you obtain the best possible outcome in your DWI case, call us!
DISCLAIMER: The exclusive purpose of this article is educational and it is not intended as either legal advice or a general solution to any specific legal problem. Corporate offices for The DWI GUYS are located at 432 N. Franklin Street, Suite 80, Syracuse, NY 13204; Telephone No.: 1-877-704-9991. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.